a criminal defense
Greeley Drug Crime Attorney
According to one 2019 study, Colorado had the ninth-highest rate of illicit substance use in the country. Nearly 300 people in Colorado died of a meth overdose in 2018, and traffic deaths related to marijuana increased by 150% from 2013 to 2018. Although many people think of drug offenses as “victimless” crimes, in reality, thousands of people are seriously hurt each year.
Unsurprisingly, the Centennial State aggressively prosecutes drug offenses. If you are arrested for possession or distribution of drugs, please contact Bruno Lilly Legal today. We can identify holes in the state’s case against you and defend you in court. You have one real shot at beating these charges, so don’t delay contacting an experienced Greeley drug offenses attorney.
Illegal Substances in Colorado
Colorado places illegal drugs on a schedule based on how addictive they are and whether they have any valid medical use. Generally, the lower the schedule, the higher the penalties for possessing, distributing, or manufacturing that drug.
- Schedule 1: Lysergic Acid Diethylamide (LSD), Heroin, PCP, Mescaline. These drugs have a high risk of abuse and little or no medical value. Possession of 4 grams or more is a level 4 drug felony. Less than 4 grams is a level 1 drug misdemeanor.
- Schedule 2: Cocaine, Methamphetamine, Opiates. These drugs are dangerous but have some medical use, so doctors can prescribe them. If you possess 4 or more grams without a prescription, this is a class 4 drug felony. Less than 4 grams is a level 1 drug misdemeanor.
- Schedule 3: Codeine, Ketamine, and some Steroids. These drugs have less risk of abuse. Possession of any amount is a class 1 drug misdemeanor or a class 3 drug felony if you intended to distribute.
- Schedule 4: Valium, Ambient. These prescription drugs are capable of abuse but are safe with medical supervision. Nevertheless, it’s illegal to possess them without a prescription, so you can face charges for simple possession. More serious charges await if you were intending to distribute them.
- Schedule 5: Substances with small amounts of narcotics. These are the least dangerous substances, which have medical benefits and a small risk of abuse. You still need a prescription to validly possess them.
What Are the Penalties for Drug Offenses in Colorado?
Any criminal charge is serious. However, the precise penalties will depend on the drug you are caught with, as well as other factors, such as the amount. The following information is provided as a general guide to the penalties a defendant could face.
- Petty Offenses: These offenses carry no time in jail but will subject the defendant to a fine.
- Level-1 Drug Misdemeanor: The maximum penalty is 18 months in jail and a $5,000 fine.
- Level-2 Drug Misdemeanor: This is the less serious misdemeanor charge. Maximum penalties include 12 months in jail and a $750 fine. Many defendants receive less.
- Level-1 Drug Felony: This is the most serious drug offense. Distributing schedule 1 or 2 drugs to a minor will be a level 1 drug felony, as will distributing larger amounts of these scheduled drugs to adults. The penalties are steep: a maximum of 32 years in prison and a $1 million fine.
- Level-2 Drug Felony: A maximum of 8 years in prison and a $750,000 fine.
- Level-3 Drug Felony: A maximum of 4 years in prison and a $500,000 fine.
- Level-4 Drug Felony: A maximum of 1 year in prison and a $100,000 fine.
Colorado’s Marijuana Laws
In 2012, voters decided to decriminalize the possession and private use of small amounts of marijuana by adults. Unfortunately, many people wrongly believe that all marijuana use and possession is legal when that is not the case.
Here are the facts as of 2022:
- It is legal for adults to possess up to one ounce of cannabis (28 grams) but not more.
- It is illegal to possess any marijuana if you are under 21. You can face minor possession charges.
- Marijuana possession is still a federal crime. This means you can be charged if you go onto federal land with marijuana in Colorado.
- It is illegal to sell marijuana without a state license. This means you can face drug distribution charges.
- It is legal for adults 21 or older to grow up to 6 marijuana plants in their home, with certain conditions. If a minor is in the home, you must keep the plants away from them.
- It is plainly illegal to drive while impaired by marijuana or any other drug—even if you have a prescription. You can face DUI charges.
Colorado Drug Crime FAQs
What is the Difference Between Medical and Retail Marijuana?
Medical marijuana can only be purchased if an individual has a medical marijuana registry ID. Retail marijuana is slightly different in the fact that it can be sold to individuals 21 years or older but the place of business must be a licensed marijuana hospitality and sale establishment.
Where Am I Allowed to Consume Retail Marijuana?
One is only allowed to legally consume marijuana in Colorado in private residences and a licensed marijuana retail business. Smoking, vaporizing, or consuming cannabis in public places (i.e., Red Rocks; Coors Field; 16th Street Mall; parking lots; or airports) is strictly forbidden.
Can I Take Marijuana Through Airport Security? Can I Travel With Marijuana Even if It’s Medicinal?
No. You cannot travel with marijuana through Colorado’s airports as it is prohibited on airport property. If you do bring it to the airport you could face drug charges and may miss your flight due to complications that could arise with airport security finding the marijuana.
What is a Drug Recognition Expert (DRE)?
A DRE is a law enforcement officer who is specially trained in determining whether or not a driver or individual is impaired and if they are, by what substance.
Contact a Greeley Drug Offenses Attorney for Help
Our drug crime lawyer has defended many people accused of drug offenses in Greeley and across Colorado. The defenses we raise will vary by the circumstances, but we will do all we can to protect your rights and freedoms, and build a personalized defense unique to your situation. Contact our team today to learn more.
People v. A. G. - Weld County
Client charged with domestic violence.
Case dismissed - January 2022
People v. S. A. - Weld County
Client charged with domestic violence.
Case dismissed - January 2022
Contact Bruno Lilly Legal today to get a case consultation. Learn more about what we can do for you.
The information you obtain at this site is not, nor is it intended to be, legal advice. You should consult an attorney for advice regarding your individual situation. We invite you to contact us and welcome your calls, letters and electronic mail. Contacting us does not create an attorney-client relationship. Please do not send any confidential information to us until such time as an attorney-client relationship has been established.
From our Greeley office, we provide legal representation to those in Greeley, Loveland, Windsor, Boulder, Fort Collins, Berthoud, Evans, Eaton, Brighton, Fort Lupton, Boulder County, Larimer County, Weld County, and Adams County.