a criminal defense
Greeley Driver's License Suspension Attorney
At Bruno Lilly Legal, PLLC, our Greeley driver’s license suspension attorney is a zealous, compassionate, and skilled advocate for motorists. We handle all types of license suspension cases—from license reinstatements to driving with suspended license charges.
If you have any questions about your legal rights or legal options, we are here to help. To set up a strictly confidential initial appointment with a Colorado driver’s license attorney, please contact our Greeley law office today.
How a Driver’s License Can Be Suspended in Colorado
In Colorado, a driver’s license can be suspended for a variety of reasons. Here is an overview of some of the different ways that a driver’s license can be suspended in Colorado:
- A Serious Driving Offense: Some serious driving offenses in Colorado can, on a per se basis, lead to a license suspension. Most notably, a DUI conviction can result in a suspended license.
- Too Many Points: A driver with too many points within a certain time frame can face a point-based suspension. For motorists over the age of 21, a suspension will occur with 12 or more points within any 12 months or 18 or more within any 24-month period.
- Failure to Pay a Traffic-Related Fine: Are you seriously delinquent on a traffic-related fine? Your license could be suspended.
- Failure to Pay Child Support: Colorado takes child support obligations very seriously. A parent who is delinquent on their child support could potentially have their driver’s license suspended.
- Out-of-State Driver’s License Issues: Colorado will defer to another state’s ruling on a driver’s license suspension. In other words, a suspension in another state generally leads to a suspension in Colorado.
- Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Issues: The regulations are different for commercial drivers. A CDL holder in Colorado could have their commercial driver’s license suspended (or downgraded) for a number of different reasons.
- Juvenile License Suspensions: Colorado also has specialized regulations in place for juvenile drivers as well as underage drivers in the context of alcohol (18 to 20). Juveniles have additional options for rehabilitation.
Colorado Law: You Cannot Lawfully Operate a Motor Vehicle With a Suspended License
It is unlawful to operate a motor vehicle with a suspended license. Under Colorado law (CRS § 42-2-138), a person whose driver’s license has been suspended could face a traffic infraction or even a misdemeanor criminal charge.
A required element of the criminal offense of driving with a suspended license is knowledge. Under CRS § 42-2-138(4)(a), a prosecutor can prove “knowledge” by showing that the defendant had knowledge sufficient to “cause a reasonable person to be aware that such person’s license or privilege to drive was under restraint.”
An Overview of the Penalties for Driving With a Suspended License
In Colorado, the penalties for driving with a suspended license can vary depending on the specific circumstances of the case. There are a number of different factors that could affect your penalties.
Notably, drivers face enhanced penalties for operating with a suspended license if the initial suspension was for drunk driving or drugged driving. A first-time offense of driving with a suspended license due to a DUI carries the following penalties:
- 10 days to one year in jail;
- Up to $1,000 in fines; and
- An additional year’s waiting period before applying for reinstatement.
Your Guide to License Reinstatement in Colorado (Including Early Reinstatement)
Are you a resident of Colorado who has had your driver’s license suspended or revoked? If so, you may be wondering what steps you need to take to have your license reinstated. There is an official license reinstatement process that a driver must complete in Colorado.
As described by the Colorado Department of Revenue, a driver is only eligible to apply for reinstatement once “the conditions of the revocation, suspension, cancellation or denial have been satisfied.”
Early Reinstatement Exception: In Colorado, some individuals who have had their license suspended for drunk driving may be eligible for early reinstatement if they agree to participate in the ignition interlock program. To be eligible to apply for early reinstatement in Colorado, a driver must have already satisfied all conditions on reinstatement, except for time.
Driver’s License Suspension: Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
What Criminal Charges Can Result in a License Suspension?
In Colorado, there are several criminal charges that can result in the suspension of your driver’s license. These charges may include:
- Driving under the influence (DUI);
- Reckless driving;
- Leaving the scene of an accident;
- Fleeing from a law enforcement officer; and
- Vehicular homicide.
Remember, other offenses that are not criminal violations could also lead to a license suspension. Examples include accumulating too many points on your driving record and failing to pay a traffic ticket.
What is a “Red License” in Colorado?
Under Colorado law (CRS § 42-2-116), a driver may be issued a restricted license. Also called a probationary license or a “red license”, these grants limited-purpose driving privileges. Examples include driving for work and driving for family obligations.
This type of license is only available in certain circumstances—such as points-based suspensions or failure to pay child support suspensions.
Do Concurrent Criminal Charges Bring About Other Penalties?
Yes—at least they could. If you are charged with driving with a suspended license and a concurrent criminal offense—such as drunk driving or leaving the scene of an accident—you could face penalties for both of the different offenses. Contact a Greeley, CO defense lawyer right away.
How Our Colorado License Suspension Defense Attorney Can Help
License suspension matters are complicated. As a boutique criminal defense and traffic offense law firm, we help drivers navigate the complexities of Colorado law. Our founder and managing attorney Havilah Louise Bruno Lilly is a caring, compassionate, and solutions-focused advocate for clients.
A successful litigator, she has experience working in both the Adams County District Attorney’s office and the Weld County District Attorney’s Office. We work proactively to help motorists resolve driver’s license matters. Among other things, our Greeley license suspension lawyer is prepared to:
- Listen to your story, answer questions you have, and thoroughly explain your options;
- Gather all documents, records, and information needed to support your case; and
- Take whatever action is necessary to protect your rights and your driver’s license.
Contact Our Greeley, CO License Suspension Attorney for Immediate Help
At Bruno Lilly Legal, PLLC, our Colorado criminal defense lawyer has the skills, experience, and legal expertise to handle the full range of license suspension cases—from driving with suspended license charges to driver’s license reinstatement.
Call us at 720-340-1373 or connect with us online to arrange your completely confidential case review. From our Greeley law office, we represent drivers throughout the region, including in Fort Collins, Loveland, Longmont, Windsor, Evans, and Eaton.
People v. A. G. - Weld County
Client charged with domestic violence.
Case dismissed - January 2022
People v. S. A. - Weld County
Client charged with domestic violence.
Case dismissed - January 2022
Contact Bruno Lilly Legal today to get a case consultation. Learn more about what we can do for you.
The information you obtain at this site is not, nor is it intended to be, legal advice. You should consult an attorney for advice regarding your individual situation. We invite you to contact us and welcome your calls, letters and electronic mail. Contacting us does not create an attorney-client relationship. Please do not send any confidential information to us until such time as an attorney-client relationship has been established.
From our Greeley office, we provide legal representation to those in Greeley, Loveland, Windsor, Boulder, Fort Collins, Berthoud, Evans, Eaton, Brighton, Fort Lupton, Boulder County, Larimer County, Weld County, and Adams County.