a criminal defense
Greeley Sex Crimes Lawyer
At Bruno Lilly Legal, PLLC, our Greeley sex crimes defense attorney is a knowledgeable, experienced advocate for clients. With an understanding of the sensitive nature of sex offense allegations, we are committed to providing zealous legal representation. If you or your family member was charged with a sex offense, our legal team is here as a resource. To arrange your fully confidential, no-obligation consultation with a Colorado criminal defense attorney, please call our Greeley law office at 720-340-1373 or reach out to us directly online.
An Overview of Sex Crimes Charges in Colorado
We handle the full range of sex crime cases in Colorado, including very serious felony offenses. Our Greeley criminal defense lawyer will review the charges against you and devise a strategy that is best suited for your situation. Everyone deserves zealous legal representation. Along with other sex crimes charges, our Greeley sex crimes defense attorney has the skills and experience to handle:
- Sexual Assault: Under Colorado law (CRS § 18-3-402), sexual assault is the crime of penetration or intrusion without consent. Sexual assault is a felony criminal offense. If actual or threatened physical force is used, it is a Class 3 felony punishable by 4 to 16 years in prison.
- Unlawful Sexual Contact: Under Colorado law, CRS § 18-3-404 governs the crime of non-consensual sexual battery, including groping and/or fondling. It is generally charged as a Class 1 misdemeanor carrying a maximum of 364 days in jail. Though, if drugs were used to carry out the offense, it can be charged as a felony.
- Sexual Assault on a Child: Child sex crimes are among the most serious criminal cases in Colorado. Under state law (CRS § 18-3-405), a defendant will be charged with sexual assault on a child if the victim is 15 years of age or younger and there is a minimum four-year age gap between the parties. A child cannot consent to sexual contact under any circumstances.
- Internet Exploitation of a Child: Under CRS 18–3–405.4, it is a felony to use the internet or social media to sexually exploit a child. Viewing a child in acts of a sexual manner (child pornography), exposing yourself to a child, and exchanging sexual messages with a child are all serious crimes under the statute.
Beyond these offenses, our Greeley sex crimes defense lawyer also handles all other types of sex crimes charges under Colorado law. This includes prostitution, indecent and lewd public exposure, enticing of a child, luring of a child, and failure to register as a sex offender.
What to Know About Sex Offender Registration in Colorado
Many people have questions about the possibility that they will be required to register as sex offenders. It is imperative that you understand Colorado’s sex offender registration rules. Under state law, any adult convicted of a felony sex crime will be required to register as a sex offender and keep up with the sex offender registration standards. Those convicted as a juvenile and those convicted of a misdemeanor sex offense are not required to register. If you have any specific questions or concerns about the sex offender registration requirements in Colorado, contact our Greeley sex crimes defense attorney for help.
Megan’s Law In Colorado
Colorado has Megan’s Law which states that local law enforcement has a legal responsibility to provide the public with names, photos, addresses, sexual offenses, and other personal information of sex offenders.
Megan’s Law covers a range of sex crimes that include:
- Sexual assault
- Unlawful sexual contact
- Incest or aggravated incest
- Enticement of a minor
- Child trafficking and sexual exploitation of children
- Indecent exposure
- Public indecency
- Child prostitution or doing anything in relation to child prostitution
- Pandering of a minor
- Unlawful sexual conduct
- Procurement of a child
- Promoting obscenity to a child or a minor
- Luring a child over the internet
- Online exploitation of a child
- Invading one’s privacy for sexual gratification
- Second-degree kidnapping
Sex Offender Probation in Colorado
Since 1998 Colorado’s Sex offender Lifetime Supervision Act has required lifetime supervision and treatment for the majority of class 2, 3, and 4 felony sex crimes. Courts in Colorado have the discretion to sentence sex crimes with varying degrees of consequences.
- Class 4 Felonies: probation is required for at least 10 years with the possibility of probation for life.
- Class 3 & 2 Felonies: probation for at least 20 years and up to life.
Probation: All sex offenders who are sentenced to probation are legally obligated to participate in the Sexual Offender Intensive Supervision Program.
Frequently Asked Questions About Sex Crimes in Colorado
What is Indeterminate Sentencing?
Indeterminate Sentencing is something we often hear but may not have known its technical term. This is when the court sentences a guilty party to a term with no set release date. A sentence such as “ten years to life” is an example of indeterminate sentencing.
Is “Sexting” a Crime and When Can it Lead to Charges In Colorado?
Text messages, emails, or other messages through platforms between two adults regarding topics sexual in nature, are legal. However, communications such as these between two minors, or if one of the parties is a minor, is against the law and those involved could face serious criminal charges.
What Is The Sex Offender Management Board?
The Sex Offender Management Board (SOMB) is a general assembly created to help reduce the number of sexual offenses that occur in the state. This board also was put in place to develop the guidelines and standards for assessing, evaluating, treating, and monitoring the behavior of sex offenders in the state of Colorado.
What If the Accusations Against Me Are False?
If the accusations against you are false, you need to contact a criminal defense attorney immediately. Working with an attorney will help ensure your rights are fought for and the wrongful allegations brought against you are dropped and your name is cleared.
Sex Offender Intensive Supervision Program (SOISP)
In Colorado, the ISP program may be ordered to start during incarceration (ISP-I), in combination with probation, or after release from incarceration. It is a program designed for low-risk offenders who were also found to be non-violent.
The program sets in place severe restrictions and several obligations for those who are required to participate in the program. Failure to comply with these requirements may result in reincarnation for the full term of sentencing.
Sexually Violent Predator Laws
The criminal justice system in Colorado has a higher risk class and more serious designation of sex crime called Sexually Violent Predators (SVP). If convicted with this designation it requires SVPs to register for life, and every 3 months instead of 1 time a year.
SVPs are those who meet all of the following criteria:
- Were convicted of unlawful sexual contact or sexual assault
- Those who were prosecuted as an adult
- Committed the offense on a stranger
- Those who are considered a high risk of repeat offenses
Sex Offender Registration Requirements
Offenders are legally obligated to register within 5 business days of being given the notice to register. Re-registering is required for any change in residential address within 5 days of moving. At a minimum, those convicted of these crimes must register annually, on their day of birth. SVP offenders must register every 3 months.
How Our Criminal Defense Attorney in Greeley Can Help
Being accused of, arrested for, or charged with a sex crime is deeply stressful. These criminal charges carry a deep stigma. Do not take on law enforcement or Colorado prosecutors without professional support. Our founding attorney Havilah Louise Bruno Lilly is a trial-tested litigator with experience in the Adams County District Attorney’s office and the Weld County District Attorney’s office. We take a proactive approach to every case. When you contact our Greeley law office, you will have an opportunity to consult with a Colorado sex crimes defense attorney who will:
- Hear your story, explain the charges, and answer your questions;
- Investigate the allegations—securing any exonerating evidence; and
- Devise a criminal defense strategy that is narrowly tailored to your case.
Contact Our Greeley, CO Sex Offenses Defense Lawyer Today
At Bruno Lilly Legal, PLLC, our Colorado sex crimes defense attorney is a zealous, experienced advocate for clients. If you or your loved one was charged with a sex offense, we are here to help. Contact us by phone at 720-340-1373 or send us a direct message to set up a fully private initial appointment. From our Greeley office, we serve communities throughout the region, including Fort Collins, Loveland, Evans, Longmont, Eaton, Windsor, and Johnstown.
People v. A. G. - Weld County
Client charged with domestic violence.
Case dismissed - January 2022
People v. S. A. - Weld County
Client charged with domestic violence.
Case dismissed - January 2022
Contact Bruno Lilly Legal today to get a case consultation. Learn more about what we can do for you.
The information you obtain at this site is not, nor is it intended to be, legal advice. You should consult an attorney for advice regarding your individual situation. We invite you to contact us and welcome your calls, letters and electronic mail. Contacting us does not create an attorney-client relationship. Please do not send any confidential information to us until such time as an attorney-client relationship has been established.
From our Greeley office, we provide legal representation to those in Greeley, Loveland, Windsor, Boulder, Fort Collins, Berthoud, Evans, Eaton, Brighton, Fort Lupton, Boulder County, Larimer County, Weld County, and Adams County.